Church-Sanctuary Or Prison?

I went to seminary in one of the suburbs of Portland, Oregon. While I was attending there, I also was involved in a leadership program out of Canada. Both of these were incredibly formative for me. It was a stripping away of the false things I thought were true about God and myself, and replacing them with the Truths of God and Truths He spoke over me. It was the experience of being in a cohort of friends, constantly reading, reflecting and interacting-a working out of my faith. It was the most formative three years of my life. And at the same time, I got stuck for a while. Stuck with holding up Portland as the place I needed to get back to.

I love Portland, I really, really do. The weird, environmentally, artsy, creative, coffee culture heartedness are all part of what I really enjoy. And, I’m thankful we get to live near this beautiful place. Where I got stuck was that I was constantly trying to get back to that intimacy that I had a few years ago. The intimacy I had with God and with others. The consistent rhythm of learning, reading, interacting, conversation, solitude and being in nature. It was great and it was only for a season, at least in that way. I got wrapped up in the belief that the only way for that to happen again is if we lived in the heart of Portland. Kind of a weird nostalgia, but I believed that if I could relive it, it would happen again. And that became a prison. There wasn’t anything wrong with that intimacy I enjoyed for so many years, it’s just that I had built up in mind that that intimacy couldn’t happen outside of it.

The past few posts I’ve been writing about God giving us over to our desires, being dependent on Him, and putting our faith in things other than God. It’s all a part of some thoughts and ideas I’ve been wrestling with.

There are some beautiful buildings in the world. I love architecture because it is so interesting. Castles, palaces, churches, theaters-they are all beautiful. When I think of the Temple of Solomon, I think of how incredible it must have been. Everything was laid out in great detail, and we can read about that in the Bible. Artists have tried to give their interpretations as to what they think it looked like, but I assume they fail in comparison to the real thing.

Yes, these types of building are beautiful. But these aren’t the only buildings that are beautiful. The building in the photograph above is a beautiful architectural building. But it’s not a theater or church. It’s not a castle or a palace. No, it’s a prison in the state of Kentucky here in the USA. Another building that I had the privilege to see in person, was incredible. Brilliantly white, perfectly rounded domes, intricate hand carved marble is what this massive structure looks like as it stands next to the Yamuna River in India. But it is also not a church or castle, palace, not even a prison. No, it’s the Taj Mahal-a tomb a  king made for his dead wife.

What if our churches aren’t really churches at all, but prisons. What if our church buildings aren’t really places of worship, but instead tombs? What if building such structures was never a part of what God intended? How would that change our theology, our ministry, the Great Commission and Commandment God has given us?

…to be continued…

be blessed today

Leave a Reply

