“If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly.”

Author G.K. Chesterton said, “A man must love a thing very much, if he not only practices it without hope of fame or money, but even practices it without any hope of doing it well.” Chesterton later used this belief to create his famous spin on a traditional proverb by saying “If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly.”
     I think that’s a good way to start off my first
                                                                           ever
                                                                                   blog.
Not that I “love” blogging, but I do love writing. I have a journal (now several in a box and on book shelves) that I write in most days. Usually in the morning, but sometimes at night, and always after or during a conversation with someone I admire and respect. I don’t ever publish each entry. And I rarely, rarely share them with Iris as these are more my wrestlings of life, faith, vision and the make up of who I am and who I am becoming. But, my conversations with Iris, friends, my children and those I lead are flavored with those inner wrestlings.
     Though I love hiking, backpacking, cycling, mountain biking, coffee roasting and tasting and playing sports, I would much rather have a cold or hot beverage, sitting on a deck with 3-4 people talking about the deeper aspects of life. I’ve noticed that people who tend to go deep and vulnerable with one another being honest, also tend to laugh from a much deeper, fuller place.
     So, though I’m slightly on the extrovert scale, I’d rather not blog for the world to see, in fear that it won’t be “perfect” or even “agreeable.” But, I have also come to understand that if I love to see people come to a point of understanding and belief of their passions, if I love help people become free from who they are not, if I love to equip people for life’s journey…then I must write….because it’s worth doing badly for the sake of myself and for the sake of others! That being said, welcome to, well, me!
Leave a Reply

